Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It has become a ritual to go to my sister’s house on Saturday mornings and cook breakfast for the new family.

The last few weeks I’ve made some kind of bread product, french toast and scones to name a few (scones will be posted after passover).

This week I needed something that was filling yet was still kosher for passover.  Now, I don’t mean kosher as in no pork, because I used bacon and cheese together. Talk about your most un-kosher of combinations.

No, I mean that it can’t use flour or any leavening agent.

I thought about going with traditional matzo bri (like french toast with matzo), but then I stumbled across this idea on one of my favorite food sites (a fellow Portland transplant to boot!) and I thought it would be super fun to try this.

It does involve grating, but grating a baked potato is surprisingly easy.  I just peeled off the skin as best I could and went to town.  I guess you could leave it on if you wanted to.

I prepped the ingredients the night before, doing all my chopping and grating.  I packaged everything up so all i’d have to do was cook the next morning.  It was easy, let me tell you.

It’s even be just as east to do at one time, it will just take more than 30 minutes.

You also may have some eggs leftover, which is good since that’s breakfast for the next day!

Some tips with this: make sure to be liberal with the butter in the tin.  Also, make sure to press the potatoes evenly and in a relatively thin layer.

My nephew was thrilled with the breakfast.

Eggs in a Hashbrown Basket”

Adapted from Lauren’s Latest

Ingredients:

  • 1 large onion, diced and split into 2 piles
  • 2 potatoes (baked the night before)
  • 4 strips bacon (or omit if you’re keeping that kind of kosher for passover)
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 9 eggs
  • Cheddar cheese, grated (about 3/4 cup)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375
  2. In a skillet, melt butter over medium heat.
  3. Take ½ of the onion and dice it.  Saute onion until lightly browned and tender, 5 minutes.
  4. Grate baked potatoes into a large bowl. Stir in cooked onions, 1 egg, salt and pepper.
  5. Melt 2 tbsp butter (more if needed) and apply liberally to the muffin tins.  You want nice crispy outside and you want it to come out of the pan.
  6. Divide potato mixture evenly between muffin tins and press evenly across the bottom and up the sides.
  7. Bake 20 minutes or until edges are dark brown and crispy.
  8. While that is baking, throw chopped bacon into the skillet over medium heat and let it cook to about ¾ of the way to where you like it.  Throw in the rest of the diced onion and the red pepper and brown it all up.
  9. Mix up the remaining eggs and add in a splash of milk or cream or whatever you have on hand.
  10. Pour it into the skillet with all the veggies and gently stir it up so you have nice fluffy scrambled eggs.
  11. Once the hashbrown baskets are done, take them out and fill them with the egg mixture.
  12. Take your cheese and sprinkle over the top of the eggs in their baskets.  Return the tin to the oven until the cheese is bubbly and golden.  Take it out, let it cool for 2 minutes, and remove baskets from tin.
  13. Eat and enjoy!
