I came home last night and was craving something sweet.  I was thinking my experimental brownies (which i’ll try soon) but really I needed it quick and relatively healthy.  Relative.  It’s all relative.

I got this recipe when I was experimenting with being gluten-free for a week.  The gluten-free didn’t stick, mostly because my body was not happy off gluten.  And I missed it.  But a bunch of the recipes made their way into my binder.

I like the idea of a really clean cookie.  Zero flour, butter, oil, what have you.  Just egg, freshly ground peanuts and sugar.  The taste: delicious.

Just a note, if you want a denser cookie, make sure to omit the baking powder.

See, even Mary likes it!

Mary thought the cookies needed a little something, something.  Like chocolate.  You really could add any chocolate to it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup peanut butter (freshly ground is awesome, so is chocolate peanut butter)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • Dash of vanilla (maybe 1/2 tsp if I had to measure)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Mix together the peanut butter and sugar.  Make sure it’s good and combined.
  3. Add in the baking powder and vanilla and make sure it is evenly distributed throughout the mixture.
  4. Finally, add in the egg.  It will come together very quickly.  Roll out some dough and bake it up!  About 10-12 minutes should do it.
