I never realized how much 40 or so cloves of garlic can stink up your house.  I’m guessing that if you’re even considering making this recipe you love garlic, and so you must even to cook it.

Mary’s bf was over and he was upstairs in the kitchen for a minute.  He walks downstairs and Mary said “you stink”.  Personally, I like to think it’s because he didn’t share whatever he was eating with her, but I suspect it had more to do with the pervasive aroma of the main floor.

That being said, I love this recipe.  It is yummy and garlicy and just goodness on every level.  I personally don’t think I smell like garlic after eating it, but everyone around me seems to give me a wide berth.  I guess they don’t understand what it’s like to have a love affair with a stinky member of the lily family.

I also paired it this time with Israeli Couscous.  It is much larger than the regular variety, and has to be cooked more like pasta than regular couscous.  I use chicken broth to cook it as it gives it just that much more flavor.  And since I have the broth open from the chicken anyway, it kills two birds with one stone.

  Or two chickens…

Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic”

Adapted from Weight Watchers Greatest Hits Cookbook

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • 4-8 Chicken thighs (or breasts or both)
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1 can tomato juice (or 1 cup if from a bottle)
  • 1/2 a cup chicken broth/stock
  • 40 cloves of garlic (or thereabouts) peeled and whole
  • 1 rosemary sprig (or 1/2 tsp dried)
  • 1 thyme sprig (or 1/2 tsp dried)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375
  2. You can use either a dutch oven or a skillet and a roasting pan (that’s easier if you ask me).
  3. Heat up a bit of olive oil and brown the chicken on all sides.  Transfer it to the dish (if using a separate dish for baking) or to a plate.  Pour off any remaining fat.
  4. Pour in the wine, broth and tomato juice, making sure to get all the bits on the bottom up and swirling.  Remove from the heat.
  5. Add in the garlic and seasonings.  Pour over the chicken and make sure it’s good and submerged.
  6. Cover tightly with foil and bake for 75 – 90 minutes.

For the Couscous

I used a ratio of 1 cup couscous to 1 1/2 cups broth.  I ended up draining a little, but I like how it turned out.  Just boil for about 5-7 minutes, or until it hits desired texture.

By using 5 chicken thighs, bone-in and taking the skin off before eating this recipe uses 7 points on the Weight Watchers PointsPlus system.

