Maybe brownies aren’t something I should mess with.  Although now that i’ve had this failure i’m more determined than ever to conquer the brownie experiment.

What is the brownie experiment you ask me?  To find a way to make a brownie with alternative ingredients i.e. coconut oil (my latest obsession), healthier flour, dairy free, whatever.  Yes I know, brownies are what they are and have no fear, you will get one of my famous amazing brownies.  But I really want to get this right!

The ingredients I started with:

Problem number one: not enough sweet.  The recipe called for 2 tbsp of honey with 1/2 a cup of unsweetened cocoa powder.  If you have ever tasted unsweetened cocoa powder, you’ll know that it is BITTER.  In the end I added about 1/4 cup of white sugar, but that definitely was nowhere near enough.

Problem number two: using just cocoa powder gives the brownies no depth of chocolate flavor.  I definitely need to add in some good quality chocolate along with the powder.

Problem number three: coconut oil alone is unable to hold up to the brownies.  I will have to figure out how to mix it with either another fat or, more likely, fat substitute (black beans and applesauce come to mind as common ones).

Problem number four: using just whole wheat flour is not good.  No other way to go about it.  I need to use only 1/2 whole wheat flour.  Or use no flour and some flour alternative (like almond meal).

It just didn’t work out.  I’m not going to post the recipe since I don’t think my retry will be off the original; which wasn’t really a recipe to begin with, more like a conglomeration of ingredients.

But I ask if you have any ideas to let me know in the comments!

