Wow. This is soooo good. Definitely not low-fat; but very high in protein. And very high in deliciousness.

Quinoa ‘n’ Cheese

You can use any cheese you want for this, I used a bunch of leftover swiss and Gruyère (which is basically swiss) and some Dubliner cheddar that I picked up a few weeks ago that I needed to use up. But I’ve had it made with everything from blue cheese to goat cheese. Experimenting is part of the fun. Along with eating it.

I started by grating up my cheese to set aside. I then finely minced a clove of garlic and a shallot (there were 2 in the bulb so I used them both). I threw some olive oil in a large skillet and softened up the veggies.

You could also add in a lot more veggies if you want, I just was going easy on them for a trial run. I put the veggies aside and toasted up the quinoa in the skillet with the flavors of the veggies.

Once toasted, I put them in boiling water. Use a 2-1 ratio of water to quinoa. So I had 1 ½ cups of quinoa left and used 3 cups of water.

While the quinoa is cooking, melt the butter in the same skillet, then add in the flour. This is called a roux. It is French. It thickens things.

Using a whisk, you cook the roux for a few minutes to get out the flour taste, then slowly pour in the milk, whisking the whole time. You now have a nice lovely sauce called bechamel. Put in the spices and the cheese. It should be thick after this.

Add the cooked quinoa into the cheese sauce.

Pour it all into a casserole dish. Sprinkle your panko on top, and put dabs of butter on it to make it nice and brown. You can use regular breadcrumbs or an alternative to make it gluten-free. Or no breadcrumbs if that’s how you roll.

Bake it at 350 for about 25 minutes or until golden brown and bubbly around the edges.

Eat and enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups quinoa
  • 1 shallot
  • 1 garlic clove
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 tsp ground mustard
  • ½ tsp paprika
  • ½ tsp cumin
  • 3 – 4 cups grated cheese(s)
  • ¼ cup butter
  • ¼ cup flour
  • 2 cups milk
  • Breadcrumbs (I used panko)
  • Butter
