I guess I would call this surprisingly healthy-ish.  It has a good amount of sugar, but you can feel free to reduce.  I halved this recipe and it still made 24 muffins.  You can also make a banana bread loaf with a crunchy cinnamon sugar top (in the directions below).  In fact, if you feel like it, sprinkle some cinnamon sugar over the top of the muffins and they’ll also be crunchy and yummy.

I subbed out some butter for some coconut oil and the flour for whole wheat pastry flour and some ground flax.  Getting my Omega-3s.

As gross as it sounds, mayonnaise is the secret ingredient and makes such a difference.  You can’t taste it, but for some reason it works.  I guess any other fat may work if you have a problem with mayo.  But I have tried many a banana bread recipe and the addition of the mayo is like a secret weapon against dryness.

These stay very moist for a few days, and after trial and error are my favorite versatile banana bread recipe.  Plus I add chocolate chips because I love chocolate.

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Adapted from AllRecipes.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter (I used ½ butter half coconut oil)
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 6 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 3 cups flour (or ½ white flour, ¼ whole wheat flour, ¼ ground flax)
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.  Line muffin tin, or butter and cinnamon sugar a loaf pan (or two for a full recipe)
  2. Cream together the butter and the sugar.  Stir in the eggs one at a time, making sure they are incorporated.  Then stir in the mayonnaise, vanilla and bananas.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda.  Slowly blend the dry into the wet ingredients.  Blend only until just incorporated.  Fold in the chocolate chips.
  4. Bake until a toothpick comes out clean.  Eat and enjoy!
