I went to the gym this morning and while I was walking on the treadmill, I could totally smell myself.  It was not altogether an unpleasant experience though, as what I smelled like was bacon. Word to the wise, wear something going immediately into the laundry when you’re frying things.  I should know this from latke frying, but apparently it takes a while for certain rules of the trade to sink in.

The other nice thing about this recipe is that you are not using a whole package of bacon for the soup, so in the morning when you’re getting it all ready and throw it into the slow cooker, you use the leftover bacon to make yourself and your roommates bacon and eggs.  I love it!

I have tagged this dairy free and gluten-free.  As I made it, it is neither.  It is also not vegan or vegetarian, but you are more than welcome to sub out chicken stock for vegetable stock and omit any meat and you’ll be home free.  The reason mine is not gluten or dairy free is that I thickened it with a roux and added in a bit of heavy cream because I wanted it a little thicker and creamier.  But really it’s going to be delicious without all those additions.  You can thicken it just by putting part into a blender (or use an immersion blender aka motor boat) and getting it all whirred up.  The starch from the potatoes will thicken it a bit too.

I did a little bit of each.  I used the bacon fat to fry up the veggies slightly, then dumped them into the slow cooker with some carrots and potatoes cut into bite-sized pieces.  I covered with chicken broth and set it on high for about 6 hours.  I then motor boated it a little, and added in my roux.  I turned it to low and took the top off to let it thicken up.  Finally I turned the heat off and added in some heavy cream.  The end result is delicious and healthy (as it’s chock full of veggies).  You can really add in as many veggies as you want of any variety.  Except mushrooms.  I refuse to have my good recipe tainted by evil mushrooms 🙂

A word on leeks.  They are dirty.  Very dirty.  I usually do 2 rinses, first with the greens cut off and just rinse as much as you can.  Then, once chopped, in a colander to get all the rest of the dirt off.

Potato, Leek & Bacon Soup

Ingredients:

  • 4 baking potatoes, peeled and cut into bite sized pieces (you can use any potatoes, but I like good ol’ Idaho spuds)
  • 1 whole onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1 garlic clove, minced finely
  • 2 leeks, green parts cut off and white chopped up into bite sized pieces.
  • 5 strips of bacon, cooked and crumbled.
  • 4-6 cups chicken broth (enough to cover everything)
  • 2 tbsp butter, 2 tbsp flour
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream (milk will work, or just omit completely)

Directions:

  1. First, get all the veggies chopped and rinsed and ready to go.
  2. Heat up a skillet and cook off the bacon.  Set aside until ready to eat the soup.
  3. Using the bacon fat, put in the leeks and let cook until slightly soft.  Add in the onion and garlic and let it all soften up.  Don’t let it get too soft, it still has a ways to go in the slow cooker.
  4. Pour the veggies, bacon fat and all, into the slow cooker.  Add in your potatoes and carrots.  Cover with chicken broth, turn to high, and cover.  Walk away and have a life.
  5. Come back about 6 hours later.  Potatoes should be fork tender and so should the leeks.  In a small dish, combine the flour and butter with a fork.  Dump into soup and stir, stir, stir to get it all melted.  The soup should start to thicken.  Turn the cooker to low, cover again, and let cook for 1/2 an hour or so.
  6. Come back and turn the slow cooker off.  Add the heavy cream until desired consistency.  Eat and enjoy!
