I decided to share with you the basics of chicken stock. It’s the one stock that I think you need to make from scratch, and it keeps in the freezer forever. It adds a depth of flavor that you can’t get from a cube or a can from the store.

It is super easy to make, and I’d suggest making it on a day where you’re mostly at home but running errands. It simmers for several hours so you can leave it for long periods of time.  Remember, the bigger the pot the longer it will take.  My mom’s big stock pot takes about 8 hours.  This one I have took about 5-6.

I personally do not like a ton of vegetables in my stock, I throw in a few for flavor and color, but I want the chicken to be the star.

You can use the stock for homemade soups or whatever stock is needed for.

Ingredients:

  • 1 package chicken thighs (about 12 or so)
  • 2 carrots (you can also put in celery)
  • 1 large yellow onion

Directions:

Throw the carrots and onion and chicken into a large pot. I leave the skin on the onions to make the stock a yellow color and I don’t bother peeling the carrots either. All the solids get tossed at the end.

Fill the pot until about 1 inch from the top with water. Cover and bring to a boil. Uncover, and simmer until the liquid has reduced by half. It will look something like this:

The best way to know is to taste.  It should taste like chicken, not like water.  You’ll know what I mean when you try it.  It goes from a  watery chicken flavor, to just plain chicken broth flavor.  That’s when you know.

Drain the liquid into a large pot and toss the solids (you can keep some meat as a treat for the furry friends, but the chicken has lost all flavor and is not worth trying to eat). Put it in the fridge to cool and become almost a jello consistency.

When it’s set, skim off and throw out the layer of fat.

Put the rest into ziplock bags and freeze.

Viola! Stock!

