I love enchiladas.  Especially the green sauce.  Normally i’ll make the green sauce from scratch thanks to a fantastic recipe from my “extended family” in Arizona.  But sometimes you’re just tired and it’s late and you’re cooking for your sister and everyone is hungry.  So I use the stuff from the store.  It’s good, but not as good as mine, which I’ll post at a later date.

I wanted to cook my sister and her new family a yummy, healthy dinner because she is making my nephew grow into a big, strapping boy and he needs all the nutrients he can get from her.  Plus, I know they’re hungry and tired of take-out all the time.

This is also one of those times I sneak is as many veggies as possible.  My sister referred to them as fajita enchiladas because I had some long strips of onion and green bell peppers that I sautéed up with my new favorite secret ingredient: Sazon.

Make sure to put your sister to work, as the new mom is of course just full of energy and isn’t at all exhausted.  Or mostly she’s starving and is trying to get the food on the table as fast as possible.

I used a combination of Monterey Jack and Queso Fresco this time, not Cotija. I used a different white cheese from Mexico that looked like it’d be interesting to try.  Normally i’m a Cotija fan with my enchiladas.

Isn’t my nephew perfect?  I think he liked the enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas”

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken thighs (or breasts) cut into bite-sized pieces
  • Tortillas (I like small corn tortillas, but any will work)
  • 1 bell pepper, cut into strips (you can use 2 if you want)
  • 1 onion, cut into strips
  • 1 package of Sazon (you can find in the mexican aisle, same stuff you use for those black beans we have posted)
  • 1 large can of enchilada sauce, plus one small (I like a lot of sauce)
  • Monterey Jack cheese, grated (about 2 cups)
  • Cotija Cheese
  • Cilantro
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper

Directions:

  1. Start by preheating your oven to 350 and pour the small can of enchilada sauce in a 9×13 pan so the bottom is coated.
  2. Next, slice up the veggies and get them sautéing in some olive oil and sazon, with a little salt and pepper.  Cook them to the firmness you like (I like them with a bit of crunch).
  3. Just before the veggies are where you’d like them, throw the chicken in and cook for a few more minutes.  You don’t have to worry too much about the chicken being cooked through, as it will continue to cook in the oven.
  4. Remove from heat, and set up assembly line.  You want to warm your tortillas first so they don’t break.  I put 4 on top of the hot veggies and just use those.
  5. Spoon the chicken and veggie mixture into the tortilla, add some jack cheese, roll and place seam side down in the pan.  Continue until the whole pan in full.  You actually may have enough for a second plan.
  6. Pour the rest of the enchilada sauce over the top and then sprinkle with any remaining jack cheese, the cotija and the chopped cilantro.
  7. Bake for about 25 minutes, or until top is bubbling and golden brown.
