I was perusing my recipe binders this week when I came across this recipe I printed years and years ago and have never tried.  It is probably from a cooking light recipe way back in the day that I actually used to type up from the magazine.  Apparently I had time on my hands.

Lentils are one of my favorite legumes and there is this one place in New York City that every time I go I get their warm lentil salad.  It is amazing and next time i’m in town i’m going to write the flavors down instantly so I can try to re-create it at home.

Until that day, I bring you this bit of deliciousness.

I used a crock pot since that is my favorite kitchen appliance these days.  However, the recipe does call for stove top and probably it would be a pretty quick dish.  Maybe an hour start to finish.  It also makes a TON of food, so feel free to reduce the amount of lentils.  Just remember the 3:1 ratio of liquid to lentils.

I also kept forgetting the Chorizo at the store and had to go back out a few times.  The last time, those evil girl scouts were at the door with their cookies and their cute little faces asking you to buy cookies.  I gave in.  God bless Samoas.

Hmmm… maybe i’ll try to make a homemade samoa.

Spicy Lentils with Chorizo

Ingredients

  • Olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 3/4 cup crumbled chorizo
  • 1/2 cup carrot, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 cups water
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups dried lentils
  • 2 yukon gold potatoes, peeled and cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Add liquid, bay leaf and lentils to a crock pot on high.
  2. While those are going, saute up the onion, garlic and bell pepper with the olive oil.  Dump it all into the lentils.
  3. Add in the carrots and potatoes.  Cover and let work on high for about 4 hours.
  4. Put the chorizo into a pan and cook it through.  Add the chorizo to the lentils and cook all the moisture has been absorbed by the lentils.
