Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Why is this quiche easy?  Because I cheated and used a prepared pie dough.  I know, I know, but I was in a hurry and needed a quick and easy lunch for the week.  Plus, it turned out very tasty, so i’m not complaining.

Quiches are one of my go-to recipes when I need something high protein and filling.  If i’m having  a party I can make them in muffin tins for individual servings.  (Please excuse the mimosa in the picture below.  I was having a party for 1).

Or, for lunch for the week, make it in a pie plate and slice it up.

My favorite filling is goat cheese and caramelized onions.  Don’t ask me why, but it’s better than even quiche lorraine or the other zillions of types out there.

What this means for you is that if you don’t like caramelized onion?  No biggie!  Try leaks, or broccoli or spinach.

Not a goat cheese fan?  Need to be dairy-free?  Just sub in whatever it is you want to eat?

Gluten-free?  Just don’t use a pie crust.  Although I guess technically then it’s a frittata.  But who cares.  Now as i’ve made it, it’s a bit more on the fattening end, because I am addicted to goat cheese so I added a lot.  I wanted a crust for some staying power at lunch, and I made sure to have about 5 of the 12 eggs be whole, the rest whites.

I also caramelized the onions in butter, not olive oil.  To caramelize, the trick is medium heat and patience.  Make sure there is some fat in there to give the veggies that lovely color, and just stir the pan every once in a while.

Soon they’ll be the color you want, and just remove and add into the quiche.  Try your own out today and tell me what you added.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pie crust (optional)
  • 1 whole onion (I used sweet yellow), cut into strips
  • Goat cheese (I used a ton, about 2/3 of a big log, but really you only need about 1 small log)
  • 12 eggs, 5 whole 7 whites
  • 1 tbsp heavy cream (can be omitted, I just like the creaminess it adds)
  • 1/4 tsp Rosemary (we were out of Thyme or I would have used that)
  • 1 tbsp butter or olive oil for browning
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 335
  2. Take out your pie place and unroll the crust in it.
  3. Meanwhile, brown up your onions over medium-low heat until they are the color you want them.
  4. Lay the onions on the bottom of the pie crust, getting every inch covered.
  5. Put your whole eggs, egg whites and dash of heavy cream in a bowl and mix it up well.  Add in your herbs.
  6. Pour the egg mixture into the prepared pie plate.
  7. Using your hands, crumble the goat cheese on top of the egg mixture.  It will make it pretty and you can be sure you’ll have goat cheese in every slice (and bite if you’re like me).
  8. Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until center is set.  You can tell because when you jiggle the pie plate, the middle stays still.
