Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love corn dogs…. OOOHHH Man, do I love corn dogs. I can barely stand walking by a Hot Dog on a Stick stand without feeling a little piece of me die knowing I shouldn’t be eating corn dogs on Weight Watchers. But you know what made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside today? Rebecca brought me a re-heated mini corn dog from her dinner last night at Cheesecake Factory. Even re-heated it was delicious. Without even thinking twice about it, I started looking up how to make a corn dog, but figured, I better make them mini for “points value purposes.” I totally rocked my own socks off with this recipe.

Ok, ok, ok. You ready for the best part? I know not everyone who reads this blog if on Weight Watchers, but you can all be excited when I say that these mini corn dog are only 2 POINTS A PIECE. You get 24 out of a package of 8 hot dogs.

There is less than 10 minutes of prep time, most of which is waiting for the oil to hit 375 (no higher or they’ll burn). The actual cook time for 24 is 10-15 minutes depending on how big your frying pan is. They tend to stay warm though as you cook the rest.

Mini Corn Dogs”

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of Jiffy corn muffin mix (the box has 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1/3 cup Bob’s Red Mill 10 grain pancake mix
  • 2 tsp onion powder
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup 2% reduced fat milk (or alternative liquid)
  • 1/4 cup water (or alternative liquid)
  • 8 Applegate Organic Super Natural Uncured Beef hot dogs
  • Oil (for frying), only 1/4 cup of oil was absorbed into my recipe, but you’ll need to fill the frying pan plenty get it well fried

Instructions:

1.  Put all the listed ingredients, aside from the hot dogs and oil into a bowl and combine well. If the batter is too runny, slowly add more Jiffy mix. I had to test mine by actually dipping a hot dog in to see if the batter would stick.

2. Soak your screwers for about ten minutes while you chop your 8 hot dogs into 24 pieces. Meanwhile, heat the oil, too.

Phoebe says, “Can I have one?” She’s so cute. Her little cute nose and her little pretty eyes, and her precious little chin fur. I love her.

3. Back to the corn dogs. Make sure your hot dogs are secure on their sticks, and dip them in the batter. It should be thick and should cover the hot dog entirely even after you let the excess batter drip off. See below.

4. Now, grab some tongs because you’re going to need it to spin the corn dog initially. You want to spin it at first in the oil to harden all the sides so it’s semi-rounded. They won’t be perfectly rounded unless they’re fried vertically, like at Hot Dog on a Stick. I’m not that sophisticated. Turn them gradually. See below.

5. When they are golden brown on all sides, remove them from the oil and put on a paper towel-lined plate to absorb some of the oil from frying. I served mine with ketchup and they were all delicious! Enjoy.

