Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Yes, it sounds weird.  Yes, it tastes different.  But man, once you start you just can’t seem to stop.

I saw this recipe on my periodic perusing of various food blogs and thought that a) it looks weird, b) I had a 6-year old’s birthday party that I wanted to bring something to yet had zero time, and c) I wanted to try it. 

It is easy.  Well, except for the learning curve of popping popcorn on the stove.  See, I usually eat the microwave kind but I though butter taste would be nasty mixed with the rest.  Since I don’t have an air popper (totally on my list to get) I would try the stove method, which I was assured through various bloggers was “easy”.

Ha!  Easy is a relative term I guess.  The first round burned and we had 4 people scrambling around to open windows and dumping burnt oil on the backyard area.  Next attempt went well, except for the small problem of trying to pour out the popcorn while it was still hot and popping missed kernels went everywhere and while the dog is trying to eat the popcorn you step on him and he limps away looking at you like you did it on purpose.  In your big boots.  The cats just look at you from afar like you’re crazy and please can you open a can of tuna already since you’re in there.

Funny side note, my cat Remy has now learned how to operate the automatic can opener.  He will run it for a second then wait for the magic tuna can to appear.  As if by sheer will and whirring noises the blessed food will arrive open and ready to be consumed.  

But I digress.  I brought the popcorn to the party and the parents went nuts over it.  I’m pretty sure the kids couldn’t have cared less.  But it really is a great party treat when you’re low on time but want to present something fun. 

Also, next time, I think instead of shortening I’ll try coconut oil.  Maybe bring a really fun flavor to it.

Birthday Cake Batter Popcorn”

From the Tasty Kitchen Blog

Ingredients:

  • Approx 6 cups of popcorn (not buttered)
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups white chocolate
  • 1/4 cup vegetable shortening
  • 1 1/2 cups white cake mix
  • Sprinkles

Directions:

  1. First, you want to pop your popcorn.  You can do this on the stove, it just takes a little practice and patience.  Otherwise, use the popcorn machine you probably have since you’re not stubborn like I am.
  2. Then, put your popcorn in a big bowl.  I’m serious, big.  You need room to stir later
  3. Next, melt the white chocolate in the microwave at 30 second intervals.  It may go without saying here, but you cannot get even a DROP of water in your chocolate when you are trying to melt it, either on your stovetop or the microwave.  It will seize up and you will curse and have to start over. 
  4. Once the chocolate is melted, add in the shortening and get it all melty and good. If you need to stick it back in the microwave for a few seconds, that’s fine too.
  5. Then add in the cup to a cup and a half of cake mix.  Go a little at a time as you may not need it all to get to the right consistency.
  6. Once that is all mixed together and not too clumpy, poor it over the popcorn and toss to coat.
  7. Next, grab any leftover sprinkles you need to use up and dump them in.  Toss again. 
  8. Let it harden before eating if you can.  Will last a few days in an airtight container.
