Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I made these muffins a couple of weeks ago to fulfill I craving I was having for carrot cake as well as to use up all those damn left over carrots I had (and the single zuchinni). I didn’t have a lot of time to build a recipe, so I wanted to do something semi-homemade (am I copyright infringing on Sandra Lee? Oh well.). So, this is a very easy adaptation of a carrot cake in muffin form. Also, if you were looking forward to some delicious cream cheese frosting, you should look somewhere else because that would defeat the purpose of making a muffin with real carrots and zuchinni. I mean, I know that the cake batter mix doesn’t help, but it’s no more unhealthy for you than flour, butter, sugar and all the other stuff you’d have to combine to make a muffin. Have fun and be creative. Cake mixes are an easy and fun way to take something you want to make and do half the work.

Semi-homemade Carrot Zuchinni Muffins”

Ingredients:

  • Betty Crocker Supermoist Carrot Cake Mix
  • 1/4 cup fat free sour cream
  • 1/2 unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 egg
  • 3 carrots, shredded
  • 1 zuchinni, shredded
  • vanilla extract, a splash

Instructions:

  1. Combine all ingredients into a large bowl. Wet or dry, doesn’t matter.

2.  Mix well.

3.  Add the spices of your choice. I like the combination in Pumpkin Pie Spice, so I decided to use that.

4.  Get your cupcake tins ready and turn the oven to preheat at 325 (or whatever the instructions of your cake mix says).

5.  Using an ice cream scoop, fill the cups 3/4 way. They’re overflow this way and have a nice muffin top.

6. See how beautiful the muffins are after 15 minutes in the oven? See below…OH WAIT- I FORGOT TO TAKE A PICTURE OF THE FINAL MUFFINS BEFORE THEY WERE ALL GONE. Good job, me. But let me tell you, they were super moist, had a nice pretty muffin top and were the color of carrot cake. You could ever see the large shreds of carrot and zuchinni. I take complete blame. I’m a horrible blogger.

Enjoy them anyway because everyone said they were delicious!

A little too delicious, in fact. They are 7 WW points a piece. Delicious, but not WW friendly by my book. However, they could be a hell of a lot worse since the original recipe called for vegetable oil and 3 eggs. Yikes. Can you imagine?

