Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love Kugels.  Potatoes kugels are right behind traditional noodle kugels, but I still love all things kugel.  As long as you don’t put raisins in it.  It’s just icky.

I know I promised matzo ball soup, but really I just make chicken soup from scratch (a combo of my stock and Nuria’s since I’m the one eating it and I know what I like) and then the blue box of matzo balls.

My mom and I had the great matzo ball taste test where we made 4 different recipes, 3 from scratch and the blue box, and in my mouth, the blue box won hands down.  So I keep it in my pantry all year long.  Mmmm… balls (just for you kickball team).

I digress.  I decided to make a healthier version of a potato kugel by adding zucchini.  Again with the sneaky vegetables.

I made it way too thick, so I am paring down this recipe to give in a nice, crispy outside and a perfectly cooked middle.

I also used my own matzo meal, which was really just ground up matzo in the food processor.  Probably not bad if you grind it very well.  Don’t be like me and have big chunks of matzo in the dish.  Or do if that sounds delicious to you. 

Also, a trick I learned from reading recipes online is to coat the pan with a fair amount of oil, so you have some excess.  Stick it in the oven for a few minutes to get the oil really hot.  Be careful when you take it out!  Then, pour the potato mixture in and hear the sizzle.  Makes it crispy.

I also drizzled a little oil on the top to get the top crispy but i don’t think it’s necessary.

What is necessary is flavor.  There is no way to get around adding salt to this dish.  You just have to do it.  I also added some garlic powder because I felt like it.  Next time I may throw in some red pepper flakes or chile powder for a little kick. 

I hope everyone had a wonderful Passover, and until next year I leave you with this recipe!

Potato Zucchini Kugel”

Ingredients:

  • 2 potatoes (I used regular baking potatoes)
  • 1 onion (or 1/2 if you don’t like a lot of onion flavor)
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups matzo meal (although you probably won’t need this much)
  • Any spices you want, but definitely salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Take out a 9×13 pan and coat liberally with oil.  Canola is good for this.
  3. Grate up all the veggies.  Rinse the potatoes, and strain all the veggies best you can so as little excess moisture remains as possible.
  4. Put your grated veggies in large bowl.
  5. In a smaller bowl, mix up your egg and your spices.  Add at least a good 2 teaspoons of kosher salt, if not a tablespoon. 
  6. Dump the egg mixture into the veggies and make sure to mix really well so everything is coated. 
  7. Add in the matzo meal a little at a time until the mixture is sticking together pretty well.
  8. Put your pan with the oil in the hot oven for 3 minutes.  DO NOT WALK AWAY!  This is a great way to start a fire, so keep an eye on it.
  9. Carefully take the pan out of the oven and add in the potato mixture.  Spread it out evenly and stick the pan back in the oven.
  10. Bake 15-20 minutes, or until the top is golden brown and there is no give when you poke it.  You want to make sure the potato is fully cooked.
  11. This keeps for quiet a while in the fridge in a tupperware.
