Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My mom makes this excellent peanut noodle salad that I have yet to get the recipe for.  This is a close second, but still I want that recipe. I will write it on my to-do list which has grown frightful in length.

I leave for my trip for Japan in 2 weeks and i’m SO EXCITED but I have so much to do before then.

My plan is to take pictures of all the food i’m eating over there and post it here so that you guys can live vicariously.  Or eat vicariously.

I do have a few tips and tricks to share.  First, Julienne means to cut into strips.

Be so, so careful with sesame oil.  Too much and you’ll overpower your recipe and it will be ruined.  It is nasty stuff in large quantities.

Don’t follow directions on the rice Thai noodles package, it’s wrong and your noodles will still be raw and you won’t realize it because you tasted the 1 noodle that happened to get cooked and you’ll have to throw out the whole thing.  Not like that happened to me or anything…

You can feel free to play around with the add-ins, more or less veggies, any combo of veggies you like.

You can also easily make this vegan/vegetarian by omitting the meat.  However, I love chicken and I need the extra protein.  But next time I may consider tofu.

I also use thigh meat because I prefer dark to white meat, but you can use the breast.  I threw the thighs on a sheet pan with some salt and pepper and roast for about 40 minutes, flipping halfway through.  I roasted it at 350 since I didn’t need a crusty outside or anything.

Depending on how much spice you like start with 1/4 of a pepper and go from there.  I like a kick so I added in the whole thing, seeds and all.

Asian Chicken Noodle Salad with a Spicy Peanut Sauce

Adapted from A Pinch of Yum

Ingredients:

  • 1 red and 1 yellow pepper, julienne
  • 1 cup shredded or julienne carrots
  • 1 cup shredded zucchini
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped broccoli
  • chopped green onions
  • 4 chicken thighs cooked and shredded
  • 8 oz. cooked rice noodles (you can use soba noodles or whole grain linguine)

For the Sauce:

  • 5 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 4 tablespoons peanut butter (I used 2 fresh, then 2 skippy.  It’s what I had.)
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon fresh ginger
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar (more to taste if needed)
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 small chili pepper (I only had access to Serrano, but you can use any, including red thai)

Garnish

  • 1/3 cup peanuts (I used salted)
  • 1 bunch cilantro, washed and chopped

Directions:

  1. Boil your noodles
  2. In a food processor, add in all ingredients for the sauce.
  3. Whir it up until it makes a nice pourable sauce.  Dip your finger in to see what it needs more of to fit your tastes.  I added in a bit more sugar.  Make sure not to dip the same finger back in to check again.  And make sure your hands are clean.  Although if you’re the only one eating it you can bend those rules.
  4. Put the noodles in a big bowl along with your veggies and mix them all up.
  5. Add in the chicken and repeat the mixing process.
  6. Pour your sauce over the top and stir to combine and get everything thoroughly coated in peanut sauce.
  7. Throw peanuts and cilantro on top when serving.  Just be forewarned that they will get a little soggy if you mix it in or leave them on top.  If you don’t mind soggy, combine away.
