Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Every year as part of his Hanukkah/Christmas gift I give my brother-in-law some baking coupons.  Rarely has he needed to employ them because I bake anyway, and he likes it when I try new things for him.

I have mentioned on here before that I try to always make a saturday morning breakfast for my sister in these early days of baby Jack.

A few weekends ago I made these cinnamon scones and they were a complete and total hit.

So much so, in fact, that my sister texted me last night saying Geoff was breaking out his coupons and wanted some more scones.  These exact ones, not any other kind.

And we’re talking about a guy who is NUTS over peanut butter.  I am always on the lookout for peanut butter recipes, but maybe I need to keep my eyes open for cinnamon.

Tips: flour your board/counter very well so they don’t stick.

I also make a big batch of cinnamon sugar and keep it around and just use that to sprinkle on top of these.  The ratios are from the original recipe, but I tend to like mine with a lot of cinnamon so I eyeball the amount I put in and taste test it.

They are simple and delicious and the whole family will eat them right up.  Just ask Geoff.  And Jack.  Doesn’t he look excited for some scones?

*An apology for the photography, I was one-handed for a lot of it.  Sometimes I multi-task my nephew snuggle time.

Cinnamon Scones

From Two Peas and Their Pod

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons cold, unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
  • 1/2 cup (or more) cinnamon chips (Hershey’s makes them. I think I used closer to ½ a package)
  • 1 cup heavy cream

For the cinnamon sugar topping:

  • 1 tablespoon heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar, cinnamon, and salt. Quickly cut in the butter, using your hands, two knives, or a pastry blender. Mix until mixture resembles coarse meal, with a feel larger butter lumps. Stir in the cinnamon chips. Pour heavy cream over the ingredients and stir with a spatula until dough begins to form. Don’t over mix.
  3. Transfer dough to a floured countertop and knead dough by hand just until it forms a ball. Form scones by patting the dough into a 3/4-inch thick circle. Cut the scones into triangles or use a biscuit cutter. Press scraps back together and cut additional scones until dough is used up.
  4. Place scones on prepared baking sheet. In a small bowl, combine sugar and cinnamon. Using a pastry brush, brush scones lightly with heavy cream. Sprinkle scones with cinnamon/sugar mixture. Bake scones for 12-15 minutes, or until scones are light brown. Cool scones on a wire cooling rack and serve.
  5. Scones will keep in an air-tight container for up to 2 days, but they really are best eaten the day they are made.
