Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I had my friend Jen’s surprise baby shower that I was throwing this past weekend and I was put in charge of desserts.  Or rather I appointed myself queen of desserts.

The surprise went off without a hitch, as did my delicious confections.

The main event was a banana cake with Bavarian cream filling push-up pop cake, which will be posted later in the week.

But to go with that I wanted something simple that was also incredibly easy (as not everyone loves banana cake).

Enter: palmiers.

These little french cookies are ridiculously easy to make and you store them in the fridge for a few hours to overnight just to slice them up and bake them off.

The only caveat is that you’re playing with sugar at a very high temp in the oven so you have to watch them closely so the sugar doesn’t burn.  The first batch burned and no one ever wants the smell of burned sugar in their home.  Trust me.

They are a delicate cookie made with really only 3 ingredients: puff pastry, sugar, cinnamon.

I made one perfect round.  The rest were all smooshed from the way I rolled them then places them in the fridge so I figured i’d leave them to see how they turned out.

They turned out just fine.  Don’t you think?

Palmiers

Ingredients:

  • 2 sheets puff pastry, thawed
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon (or to taste, I like more usually)

Directions:

  1. Mix together sugar and cinnamon in a bowl
  2. Spread work area with about 1/2 a cup of the cinnamon sugar mix
  3. Put puff pastry down, open flat and sprinkle with some more cinnamon sugar.  The idea is to use the cinnamon sugar in place of flour.  Helps it get really into the dough.
  4. Roll out dough until it is about even all around, maybe 12×12.  I never measure but I eyeball
  5. While you’re rolling, continuously add cinnamon sugar to make sure it doesn’t stick to the pin or the work surface
  6. Start rolling the dough inward from each end, meeting in the middle.
  7. Wrap and refrigerate for a few hours to overnight.
  8. Preheat oven to 450
  9. Line 2 baking sheets with silpats (or parchment paper but the coverings are really a must here as there will be carmelized sugar on your baking tray and it’s a pain to get off)  You can also use 1 tray but 2 makes it easier.
  10. Take your dough out of the fridge, and slice into 1 1/2 inch slices
  11. Lay slices down on a cookie sheet with the rolled side facing up
  12. Bake for 10-11 minutes turning once halfway through.  Make sure you watch the last 2 minutes so the sugar doesn’t burn.  They should be a nice golden brown all the way around.
  13. Cool and enjoy!
