Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m nervous writing this post today.  I don’t know if i’m up to the challenge.

See, one of my new favorite bloggers Shelly over at Cookies & Cups is having a Friday link-up party for her s’mores week.  I am linking up.  This means (hopefully) a bunch of people who don’t know me are actually going to be reading this post and visiting our blog.  So if you’re new: Hi!  Welcome!  Come read about us and our food! And don’t judge the pictures too harshly.  I just got a new camera so they will be better from here on out, promise.

It’s actually entirely coincidental that I made a s’mores recipe this weekend.

The foodie blogosphere has been all a twitter (ha!) about this stuff called Biscoff Spread and recipes for it have been cropping up everywhere.  I decided I wanted to give it a try since I love the Biscoff cookies so I found it at the newly re-opened Fred Meyer Burlingame.  Side note, have you checked out that remodeled Freddys?  It has a salad bar.  And Biscoff Spread.  I’m just saying, go check it out.

Anyway, so I brought the Biscoff spread home and waited approximately .7 seconds before grabbing a spoon and giving it a taste.  Verdict: tastes like the cookies.  Good.  Not better than Nutella, but good.

Mary and Nicki came home and were watching me bake the banana cake for the shower and while I was chatting and mixing up ingredients, they spied the Biscoff spread on the counter and I told them all about it.  They took a taste and, neither of them having had the cookies before, said: “it tastes like graham crackers.  But spicier.”  Hmmm… graham crackers…

With that percolating in my noggin I realized that my baking fervor was not going to cease after baking the cake and prepping the palmiers; I was craving some warm-from-the-oven chocolate chip cookies.  And seriously, when the craving strikes, there’s no way to not give in when you’re already in the kitchen baking.

Wait.  Grahams… chocolate…. s’mores!  So with that I devised a recipe that was what i’d dub mostly successful.  The next pass on these will see more Biscoff spread added to the batter and I want to find those little marshmallow bits people have been finding to add to the cookie rather than placing the marshmallows on top.

That was the other issue.  The marshmallows like to dissolve if cooked the full time it takes to bake the cookie.  So success was found halfway through the baking process when I flipped the trays and added the marshmallows to the half-baked cookies.

That’s not to say the cookies weren’t 100% delicious.  The roomies took most of them camping and they were devoured with rave reviews brought back along with the crumbs.  The rest I brought up to my sister’s place and when I went to grab one of the few left the following day I got a lecture about indian giving.  Is that even a PC term anymore?  What am I supposed to say? A “degifter” a la Seinfeld?  A reneger?  I don’t know.

Alas, in the end I have a great cookie that I ate too many of in one sitting and had to run 4 miles to make up for it.

Biscoff S’mores Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • ½ cup Biscoff Spread (Next time I’m upping it to 1 cup and taking out ¼ cup of butter)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • ½ package, or roughly 2 cups chocolate chips
  • Mini marshmallows (or bits if you can find them)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper or silpats
  3. In a medium bowl, combine flour, salt and baking soda.
  4. In the bowl of a mixer fitted with the paddle attachment cream butter, sugars and Biscoff spread.
  5. Add in the eggs one at a time, making sure each is fully incorporated before adding in the next.
  6. Scrape down the bowl and add vanilla.  Combine one last time.
  7. Slowly add in the dry ingredients with the mixer on low until it is almost combined.
  8. Put in the chocolate chips (and marshmallow bits if that’s what you’re using)
  9. Put mixture on low for a few second to combine, but don’t over-beat.
  10. Use a cookie scoop or spoons to scoop out cookies onto your baking sheets.
  11. Bake about 10 minutes total.
  12. If using mini marshmallows, at the 5 minute mark take cookies out of the oven and place marshmallows back in.  Let bake for another 5 minutes.
