Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

This is the second post in a week using Biscoff and s’mores in the same sentence.

I can’t help it.  I love the taste of Biscoff, chocolate and marshmallows together.  They work in perfect harmony and make me want to sing.  Ok, not sing, but be happy.  And eat sugar in many glorious forms.

Or maybe I had the rest of the jar to use before I leave on my trip and I thought this recipe sounded like a good idea.  You decide.

I am only calling it a failure because it was sooo gooey that I couldn’t cut it into bars.

In fact, I just left a fork in the dish and we all went to town taking bites here and there.

After a day on the counter it firmed up enough to eat without it dripping down your shirt, but I really need to reduce the brown sugar and up the flour in the filling if i’m going to make these again.

I also think the crust needs more flavor.  It’s kind of blah right now, so I want to re-tool with some more taste.  Probably sub in graham crackers instead of flour.

But goodness were these delicious right out of the oven.

Biscoff S’mores Bars

Adapted from Mississippi Kitchen

Ingredients:

  • Crust:
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • Filling:
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup Biscoff spread
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 ½ cups mini marshmallows (or more, you need enough to cover the dish)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, combine crust ingredients on low to medium speed just until mixture is evenly mixed and moist.  (It will start clumping together.)
  3. Dump into an 8 x 8 inch baking pan.  You can butter the pan but I used a Pyrex and because of all the butter in the recipe I really had zero problem getting the bars out.
  4. Press mixture onto bottom of pan in an even layer.
  5. Prick 6-8 times with a fork, then bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown around edges.
  6. Meanwhile, beat the eggs, sugar, Biscoff and flour until smooth.  Add in the chocolate chips and stir.
  7. When crust is done, pour mixture evenly over crust and bake for an additional 25 minutes.
  8. Remove from oven and crank up heat to 425.
  9. Sprinkle marshmallows evenly on top so that you have a layer.
  10. Put back in the oven and cook an additional 5 minutes or until marshmallows are golden brown and the bars are set in the middle.
  11. Cool completely on wire rack before cutting into bars.
