Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Did you miss me?  I’m back after a whirlwind trip to Japan and i’m going to share all my food experiences soon.  I just have to get over my jet lag first and start being productive again.

I got back from my trip just in time for Mother’s Day weekend and as it is my sister’s first year as a mom, when she requested my cinnamon scones who was I to say no?

The plans were to have lunch at my sister’s in-law’s place which would have a total of 4 mom’s there including my own. 

So i decided to mix up my recipes a bit and make cinnamon scones and another kind that would use up the rest of the dried cranberries I had on hand.

And what goes better with dried cranberries than chocolate?  Nothing.  So I threw in the rest of the mini chocolate chips for good measure.

I like these scones so much because they are much lighter than regular scones.  Probably because all that’s in them is butter and heavy cream.

Also, don’t be worried if you dough is a bit loose when you turn it out on the board, it will come together nicely.

The quicker you work it the better, you want little fat chunks of butter scattered throughout the dough so it bakes up all fluffy and delicious like.

Can I just take a second to mention how much my nephew has changed in 2 weeks?  He now is all chubbed out with big chubby cheeks, and he no longer looks like a wrinkled old man. 

I love watching him grow and am so thankful my sister and her family are sticking around for another 4 years!

Dried Cranberry and Mini Chocolate Chip Scones

Adapted from Cinnamon Scones recipe, originally adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 5 tablespoons cold, unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
  • 1/2 cup (or more) mini chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries, cut up a bit
  • 1 cup heavy cream

For the sugar topping:

  • 1 tablespoon heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup raw sugar if you have it (if not regular sugar will work)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt. Quickly cut in the butter, using your hands, two knives, or a pastry blender. Mix until mixture resembles coarse meal, with a feel larger butter lumps. Stir in the chocolate chips and cranberries. Pour heavy cream and vanilla extract over the ingredients and stir with a spatula until dough begins to form. Don’t over mix.
  3. Transfer dough to a floured countertop and knead dough by hand just until it forms a ball. Form scones by patting the dough into a 3/4-inch thick circle. Cut the scones into triangles or use a biscuit cutter. Press scraps back together and cut additional scones until dough is used up.
  4. Place scones on prepared baking sheet. In a small bowl, combine sugar and cinnamon. Using a pastry brush, brush scones lightly with heavy cream. Sprinkle scones with sugar. Bake scones for 12-15 minutes, or until scones are light brown. Cool on a wire cooling rack and serve.
  5. Scones will keep in an air-tight container for up to 2 days, but they really are best eaten the day they are made.
