Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One of the best things about living in Oregon is the abundance of farmers markets.  I don’t think I can express in words how much I enjoy wandering through aisles of fresh produce and other goodies, and thinking about my menu for the week and juggling what I want with what I will actually eat before it goes bad.

We do have farmers markets that run year-round here, but the main season runs from May – October/November.  So during farmers market season I plan on documenting my trip to the market and will dutifully post what I bought and the recipes I plan to make with it.  First up: Beaverton Farmers Market.

This is one of my favorite markets, and the closest to my house.  I love the offerings here and usually head over right after the gym.  The flowers are in full bloom right now.  Gorgeous!

The strawberries are just beginning to make an appearance.  I am really bad about eating fruit in the winter.  I just don’t enjoy a lot of winter fruit and get real tired of citrus real quick.  But berries, man, I will never tire of berries. 

So I picked up some strawberries. 

Next on my wandering found some sugar snap peas.  I do love to munch on these during the day at work.  Sold!

The next tent was one of the farms I usually visit, and their asparagus looked amazing and their rhubarb was a deep ruby-red color. 

Strawberries and rhubarb are an amazing combination and since I had an event that evening I had to make a dish for, I figured this would be put to excellent use.

An idea was beginning to form in my mind about what I wanted to eat for lunch this week.  The parsnips were huge but didn’t fit into my plan so I passed them by.  But not before snapping a pic to document the size of those bad boys.

Finally, armed with what I needed for the week, I got some lunch for myself.  Amazing brick-oven pizza. 

With my finds, I decided this week i’ll make a quinoa salad with roasted asparagus and other assorted veggies, I had a cheesecake party to go to so I made mini strawberry rhubarb cheesecakes, and for snacks I have some sugar snap peas.  Look for the recipes later this week!

