Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Why did I make shrimp ceviche? Well, ceviche is a dish that is interpreted from country to country from Cuba to South America to Mexico and far beyond. Every country as their steadfast rules about what kind of fish, what kind of additions, etc. So, why did I make shrimp ceviche?

The inspiration really came from my fiance, Rafa, who bought a tray of 100 Shrimp Cocktail things with the red sauce. He loves that shit and can eat it up all day, but 100 shrimp? Even I was overwhelmed. He suggested to me to make a ceviche while we were at Costco and he saw a store-made ceviche that featured mango. He said that ceviche should NEVER have mango. Although many ceviche recipes DO feature mango, we both agreed it was a no-no. Again, it’s our interpretation of a dish that varies as much as each spanish-speaking nation varies.

Shrimp Ceviche

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 lbs. peeled, deveined and pre-cooked shrimp
  • 6 limes, juice only
  • 1 avocado, large
  • 1/2 large red onion
  • 1/2 jalapeno
  • bunch of cilantro
  • salt & pepper

Instructions: (requires overnight inactive cooking time)

1.  To make your life a lot easier, use “cocktail shrimp,” which is what I did. I ripped all the tails off by pinching the tail and pulling the body gently. I filled a bowl. After, cut up the shrimp in uneven pieces (some large, some small). I generally cut each shrimp into 3 pieces. See below.

2.  Place the chopped shrimp into a glass bowl that has a flat base. In this case, I found my glass pie pan to be quiet useful. Pepper the shrimp.

3.  Now cut your 6 limes in half. I know it seemmmmsss like a lot of citrus, but actually the original recipe called for 6 limes PLUS 6 lemons. That’s a little out of hand and all of the comments said something like “whoa, wayyy too citrusy”…etc. I figured, I should cut that in half. Did it help to convince myself of this also because I had no lemons? Sure, it did! 🙂

 

4.  You may be asking yourself, why is there a fork stuck in that lime? No, I’m not just trying to display it for you. It is actually a technique I use to juice limes. I pierce it with a fork, then, holding the fork in place, I use my other hand to squeeze the lime and rub it up and down in a “C” shape to extract all of the juice. Works really well and makes sure to get every drop of juice.

Now that the shrimp is in a nice little pool. Cover it in seran wrap and refrigerate it to let the juice soak in. My fridge got a little cold and froze the whole thing, so I had to wait an extra day for it to un-freeze. Ugh!

5.  Now, remove your limey shrimp from the fridge and add all of your chopped cucumber, diced onion , jalapeno and cilantro.

 6. Now cut up your avocado and add it to your mix. Stir everything really well and then add the salt level to your taste. When you’re done, serve up with some tortilla chips and enjoy!

