Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Or ‘the pasta salad I totally copied from New Seasons’.

If you don’t know New Seasons, it’s a supermarket here akin to Whole Foods. 

Their deli case is filled with delicious looking food, mostly healthy, and the kung pao tofu is amazing. 

But I was feeling a little peckish after a soccer game and figured I needed some bulk with my meal so I got the pasta salad. 

This pasta salad is unlike normal ones swimming in mayo (not that there’s anything wrong with that).  It has some unique flavors and it makes it feel a little healthier since I add in a bunch of spinach. 

The dressing is a combination of buttermilk, sour cream, mayo, vinegar, salt and some sugar. 

When you make it you’ll have to taste test it to see if it needs any more of this or that.  I played with it a lot so my measurements are not going to be exact.  They are more of a ballpark. 

Plus, some people like more or less tang.  I like tang.  Not the orange powder of unknown flavor and chemical makeup.  Tangy flavors. Like goat cheese and feta cheese. And sour cream.  I love sour cream.  I’ll get back on point now.

You could play around with the flavors a bit and add in some olives or red onions, but I was trying to replicate the recipe first, and I will play later.

I brought this to Mary’s 30th birthday campout and it was a huge success. 

Apparently such a success that one girl told me she couldn’t be friends with me because I would make her fat.  Sadly, this is not the first time i’ve heard that…

Although the last time the guy I was seeing kept eating entire pans of my banana bread and then would blame me for his lack of a six-pack.  I can’t help that I love to bake, or that you insist on eating it every time you come over.  I’m just saying.  Not my fault.

What is my fault?  Introducing you to the best pasta salad in the world.  You’re welcome.

Mediterranean Pasta Salad

Again, this make a lot. Like enough for 10+ people on a camping trip, with people having second and third helpings.

Ingredients:

  • 1 big bag any kind of macaroni (probably about 4-6 cups when cooked).
  • 2 cups partially cooked spinach (which is about 1/2 a bag of fresh spinach before it wilts.)
  • 1 bunch scallions (also called green onions)
  • 2 packages feta (you may only use 1, but I ended up using 1 1/2)
  • 2 cups Sour Cream (approximately)
  • 1 cup buttermilk (do I have enough parentheticals yet?)
  • 1 cup mayonnaise (not the evil chemical imposter)
  • 2 tbsp white vinegar
  • 1/8 cup sugar
  • Salt to taste

Directions:

  1. Boil the macaroni until it is done.
  2. Turn off the stove and drain the macaroni.
  3. While still hot, put the spinach in the macaroni pot and put the hot and drained macaroni right on top to wilt the spinach.  That’s all the cooking it should need.
  4. While that’s cooking/drying out, mix together the sour cream, mayo, buttermilk, sugar, vinegar and some salt.  Taste to see if it needs any additional flavors, and make sure it’s a good consistency to coat the macaroni. 
  5. Slice up your scallions.
  6. Once the dressing meets your approval, add in 1/2 block of crumbled feta and 3/4 of the sliced scallions.
  7. Put the noodles and spinach in a large bowl.  Add in the liquid and stir to coat evenly.  Add in the rest of the block of feta.  Taste.  If it needs more feta, add it.  You want a little feta in every single bite.
  8. Once it has met your approval, pour into a serving bowl and top with remaining scallions, cover and let rest at least a few hours if not overnight.  Taste it again the next day to make sure it still tastes good.  It will. 
  9. Serve it up cold or at room temperature. 
