Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

There are so many great options for middle eastern and mediterranean food in Portland. In general, Portland is a foodie’s dream come true. I have found this true for me, being a foodie. My favorite places to hit in Portland when I am craving these types of food include: Nicholas’s on Grand, Habibi on 10th and Yamhill, Al-Amir, and that delicious food cart I ate at the other day. I can’t remember its name but I ate there twice that week and ordered the Veggie Mezza platter. It included Tzatziki, Falafel, Dolmades and a small Greek salad. I was in LOOOVEE!!

Tzatziki is a traditional Greek or Turkish meze or appetizer. It is a simple dipping sauce that is always served cold. It’s normally made with strained yogurt (usually of sheep or goat’s milk), garlic, lemon, cucumber, dill, salt and pepper. Following this traditional method, I present to you…tzatziki.

Tzatziki

Inspired by Two Peas & Their Pod

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole cucumber, peeled and seeds removed, diced (1 cup total)
  • the juice of one lemon
  • 3 cloves of garlic, finely minced
  • 3 – 5.3 oz. cups of Oikos plain, non-fat Greek yogurt
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tablespoons of finely minced dill

Instructions:

First, peel your cucumber, remove the seeds and dice into little squares or little strips, whichever texture you like. You’ll need 1 cup.

Next, pour the 3 yogurt cups into a medium size bowl. Cut up your lemon and squeeze it into the yogurt.

Once you’ve stirred the lemon in, throw on your minced garlic, minced dill and cucumber.

Finally, salt and pepper to your liking. It should taste great at this point, but you should refrigerate it and stir it well before serving. It will last in the fridge for 2-3 days. Enjoy!

