Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Before you start reading this post, you must know that this recipe is a two day committment. If you’re anything like my exes, you’ll run away now and break up with my blog. “It’s not you, it’s me…We should just be friends…You’re a great person, anyone would be lucky to have you.” Etc etc. If committment doesn’t scare you, then read on.

Oh but wait, I have to admit things didn’t go according to plan on this recipe. I had to tweak my final results so that I’d end up with a round falafel ball. Basically, I’m not sure what happened but the falafel fell apart in the oil. Apparently it’s pretty common, but I’m not sure why because I followed the recipe to a T.

The reason I say it’s a two day committment is because on the night before you make your falafel, you need to soak your DRY CHICKPEAS. Yes, DRY chickpeas. Don’t committ the ultimate falafel sin by using canned garbanzo beans. Apparently the taste is funny and wierd. And when we’re talking food, nobody likes “funny” or “wierd.”

Traditional Falafel”

Inspired by The Shiksa in the Kitchen 

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound (about 2 cups) dry chickpeas
  • 1 small onion, roughly chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 5 cloves garlic
  • 1 1/2 tbsp flour
  • 1 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp garam masla (I used this for the cardamom and corriander)
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • Olive Oil

Instructions:

First, you’ll need to soak your garbanzo beans overnight. Unfortunately, this doesn’t always make them puff up and they don’t absorb the water very well. I had to quickly par-boil mine and then chill them really quick before they became mush. You don’t want mushy falafel.

In the mean time, chop your parsley, onion, garlic, get your spices out and measure your flour. Using a large food processor, combine all of these ingredients until you have a nice consistency (something that resembles cous cous). It should sort of stick together when you squeeze it in your fist.

Up close now…

At this point you need to refrigerate it for at least an hour and half. Apparently this is an essential part of the setting process so the falafel mix can get a nice texture and be perfect when you’re ready to fry it.

At this point, I stuck my falafel balls in the oil and they seemed to be frying up ok until a few minutes in the sides started to fall apart. I didn’t want to waste a second batch, so I changed plans. After all, they say necessity is the mother of invention. I used the technique my family uses for making croquetas. I prepared a plate with two scrambled eggs and a second flat plate with flour. I dip each ball first in the egg, than in the flour. It worked like a charm.

Finally, we fry! This is pretty straight forward. Heat up a fry pan about an inch deep with olive oil. Let is get hot, but not so hot that all you see is burning oil and you fry the outside of your falafel and the inside stays raw and wierd.

I fried them until they were dark brown and were holding a great round shape. I served them hot on a little bed of cool tzatziki. It was freakin’ delicious! Even Rafa liked them and he fears all new foods!

Weight Watchers Points = approx. 2 per falafel (every 3 are 7 points)

