Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was craving a Salmon Caesar after having to run dinner to a late night meeting at work. Why? Because most of the people in the meeting ordered the Salmon Caesar from Rock Bottom Brewery. Yum. I’ve had that caesar and that is a delicious salad. Unfortunately, let me tell you some details about the Salmon Caesar from Rock Bottom (taken straight from Rock Bottom’s nutrition guide):

82 grams of fat, 18 grams of carbs, 4 grams of fiber and 32 grams of protein=

26 Weight Watchers PointsPlus points – DO I NEED SAY MORE? When I tell you I only get 28 points a day, does this put it in perspective? So, a solution was needed. Salmon is healthy but high in WW points (high in fat, but good fats – they still reccomend it). Caesar salad is ok, but the dressing alone can kill your day.

Here’s my recipe. Sorry about the blurry pictures, my hands shake a lot. 😦

Salmon Caesar”

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag of romaine lettuce, chopped
  • .8 lbs or around 12.8 ounces of Sockeye Salmon from Trader Joe’s, cut into 4 pieces
  • Garlic and Cheese seasoned croutons
  • Caesar dressing
  • Lemon, cut into 8 wedges
  • Parmesan & Romando shredded, dried cheese
  • seasonings (for your salmon), garlic salt, onion powder, black pepper
  • EVOO

Instructions:

1.  Set your oven temperature to 400 degrees.

2. Remove the salmon from the airtight seal and put it on a plate. Using the auto defrost function on your microwave, push in Auto Defrost and the weight of .8. It’ll give you about 5 minutes and the salmon will come out ready to cook perfectly.

3. After the five minutes are up, soak up some of the water it released using a clean paper towel and then liberally season your fish (flesh side only) with whatever flavors you enjoy.

4. Set your oven safe pan on the stove to medium heat and drizzle about 2 tablespoons of EVOO.

5. When the oil gets hot (hover your hand over the pan to get a sense of the temperature), put the salmon flesh side down first for 5 minutes and do not move it.

6. After the 5 minutes are up, flip the salmon to the skin side. Put the salmon in the oven now and set a timer for 8-10 minutes (I like mine moist (Rebecca ETA: I think there’s a movement now to say hydrated instead of moist)).

7. While it’s in the oven, put your romaine in a large bowl. Add the dressing (1/2 cup) and toss well. I added a little extra garlic salt here because I love garlicky caesar.

8. Finally, throw in the croutons and toss. I liked these croutons because they were big and super crunchy. When you are at this point, dish up 4 plates.

9. Sprinkle on some cheese.

10. Top your caesar with the salmon fillet (This is two portions of salmon here, but 4 ounces each would have been fine. In fact, I only ate half my piece of salmon. It was too big.). Top with two lemon wedges per person and sprinkle with a little additional parmesan cheese. Delicious!

Weight Watchers PointsPlus = 10-11 depending on dressing/crouton amount

